County Champions enjoy royal reception with cricket's favourtie charity

24th Oct 2012
County Champions enjoy royal reception with cricket's favourtie charity

Warwickshire CCC and Kent Ladies travelled to the capital today (24 October) to officially receive their LV= County Championship trophies at Buckingham Palace from The Lord’s Taverners’ Patron and Twelfth Man, HRH The Duke of Edinburgh.

Both Warwickshire and Kent, led by Jim Troughton and Charlotte Edwards respectively, had the honour of receiving their 2012 silverware at the Palace following a reception at The Lord’s Taverners’ offices. For 29 years it has been tradition for the County Championship winners to be presented with their trophies by HRH The Duke of Edinburgh, since Hampshire in 1973.

During the reception at The Lord’s Taverners offices David Collier, Chief Executive of the England & Wales Cricket Board, presented the annual ECB cricket journalism awards for the second year.

The award for innovation in cricket journalism went to The Cricket Paper, national cricket newspaper of the year was awarded to the Daily Telegraph, best online coverage went to ESPN Cricinfo while the Yorkshire Post was named the best regional newspaper for the second successive year.

The only individual accolade was awarded to David Jordan, who picked up a £5,000 ECB scholarship having been named young cricket journalist of the year.

Chris Cowdrey, President of The Lord’s Taverners, said: “We are delighted that our Patron and ‘Twelfth Man’ the Duke of Edinburgh hosts this event every year at Buckingham Palace. The Lord’s Taverners is cricket’s favourite charity and this is a fantastic opportunity for us to give something back to the cricketers who have given their all to win the championship this year and, along the way, inspired young people to take up the game. We congratulate the 2012 County Champions, Warwickshire and Kent Ladies for brightening up a wet summer!”

« Back to news home | View more from Lord's Taverners

News categories

Please choose from the categories below.

Our sponsors:

BT Grange Hotels Berkeley Group Foundation Ford