Cricket United XI edge T20 thriller by one run

23rd Sep 2016
Cricket United XI edge T20 thriller by one run

A Cricket United XI beat Surrey All Stars by one run in a tense and thrilling Yorkshire Tea 20 clash at the Kia Oval on Thursday night.

The match, helping to raise money for Cricket United, attracted some of the biggest names in world cricket and some of the UK’s most exciting young cricketers.

After winning the toss, Surrey All Star captain Kevin Pietersen chose to bowl on a balmy September evening at the Kia Oval and it wasn’t long before his bowlers took wickets.

Jade Dernbach took just four balls to remove Virender Sehwag and the Cricket United side then lost Ben Duckett shortly afterwards as the home side made a strong start to the game.

But a strong partnership between Owais Shah (59) and Yusaf Pathan (34) steadied the ship. Captain Darren Sammy hit a quick fire 20 with Tino Best and Yasir Arafat also contributing late on to take the Cricket United XI to 143-7 off their 20 overs.

Dernbach and Azhar Mahmood were the pick of the Surrey bowlers as they each claimed two wickets.
In reply, the home side lost the early wicket of Rory Burns before Laurie Evans and Pietersen led the charge. Pietersen went on to get a half century in his only game on English soil this season before two wickets in the 13th over from Saeed Ajmal pinner Surrey back.

And when Yasir Arafat sent Sam Curran’s middle stump flying across the pitch, Surrey All Stars were left needing 37 to win off the final five overs. Some late hitting from Adam Hollioake and Azhar Mahmood took their team to within touching distance of the total, but tight bowling in the final over from Tymal Mills saw Cricket United to victory.

Watch the action through the eyes of Ben Duckett as he used a GoPro while batting at the Kia Oval before it went flying when he was dismissed:

Cricket United XI: Virender Sehwag, Ben Duckett, Owais Shah, , Yusaf Pathan, Darren Sammy, Yasir Arafat, Tino Best, Saeed Ajmal, Tymal Mills, Monty Panesar, Amar Virdi.

Surrey All Stars XI: Kevin Pietersen, Rory Burns, Laurie Evans, Sam Curran, Azhar Mahmood, Adam Hollioake, Tom Curran, Harbhajan Singh, Matthew Pillans, Jade Dernbach, Saqlain Mushtaq

« Back to news home

News categories

Please choose from the categories below.

Our sponsors:

Ford Berkeley Group Foundation BT Grange Hotels