Lady Taverners

Lady Taverners

The Lady Taverners owe their formation to Baroness Thatcher.
Normally each Prime Minister had been made a member of the Lord’s Taverners. But the first Lady Prime Minister set the previously all-male club a problem. Being ever inventive they decided to form the Honorary Lady Taverners and in early 1980 the late David Evans MP invited Baroness Thatcher to become Honorary Lady Taverner No. 1 – luckily she agreed.
Twenty three other ladies were initially invited by the then Lord’s Taverners president, Eric Morecambe, to join – ladies who had helped at cricket matches and those who had organised the very successful tombola at the President's Ball, including Ann Barrington Judith Chalmers, Rachael Heyhoe Flint, Marjorie Gover, Joan Morecambe, Anne Subba Row and Betty Surridge. Soon afterwards more were invited, bringing the total to 61.

Lady Taverners News

Upcoming National Events

What We've Been Up To

  • A Sunday Brunch with Jazz

    This event was held on 14th October 2018

    Join the Northern Ireland Lady's Taverners for Sunday Brunch With Jazz

  • Golf Day at Sweetwoods

    This event was held on 5th October 2018

    Enjoy a day of golf with the Kent and East Sussex Lady Taverners