County cricket champions receive trophies from HRH the Duke of Edinburgh

31st Oct 2013
County cricket champions receive trophies from HRH the Duke of Edinburgh

LV= County Championship winners, Durham CCC and Sussex Women were at Buckingham Palace yesterday to receive their trophies from HRH The Duke of Edinburgh. The occasion marked the 30th anniversary of The Lord’s Taverners and Lady Taverners Trophies being awarded by Prince Philip, who is Patron and ‘Twelfth Man’ of the UK’s leading youth cricket and disability sports charity.
The Lord’s Taverners Trophy is the official name of the silverware awarded to the winners of the men’s County Championship, with the women’s champions receiving The Lady Taverners Trophy. Durham captain Paul Collingwood and Sussex captain Arran Brindle joined their teammates for a reception at The Lord’s Taverners’ offices before heading over to Buckingham Palace to receive the 2013 silverware.
Receiving medals on behalf of Durham’s absent players, Paul Collingwood, said: “It’s been a good year but a tough one - I’ve told them to all go away and improve as we want to win this next year as well! Huge thanks to The Lord’s Taverners for hosting us for such a special occasion and hopefully we’ll be making the return journey next year.”

Sussex captain Arran Brindle, said: “On behalf of Sussex I’d like to thank The Lord’s Taverners for their excellent hospitality and congratulate Paul and his team on their Championship victory.

“We’ve been on an incredible journey this year, having to cope with injuries to key players, but we were able to bring in some really good youngsters who really flourished when given the opportunity. It’s a great honour to be here with Sussex as captain for the day.

The Lord’s Taverners reception also played host to the annual Cricket Journalism Awards for a third year running, which were presented by David Collier, Chief Executive of the ECB.
The award for the Regional Newspaper of the Year went to The Derby Telegraph and the Online Publication of the Year was awarded to ESPN Cricinfo for the second year running. For the first time, The Cricket Paper won National Newspaper of the Year while the Special Award for Outstanding Innovation and Support of County Cricket went to The Yorkshire Post.
Charlie Talbot-Smith, who works for the Sportsbeat press agency and is a regular contributor to The Cricket Paper, was named Christopher Martin-Jenkins Young Journalist of the Year, receiving a £5,000 scholarship supported by The Times to report on an overseas cricket event, preferably involving county teams.
Scott Read, who reports on county cricket for BBC Radio Manchester and BBC Radio Lancashire, was named the inaugural winner of the Christopher Martin-Jenkins Young Broadcaster of the Year award.
Both individual awards have been named in honour of the former BBC Radio Test Match Special commentator and ex-Times and Daily Telegraph cricket correspondent who died earlier this year.
Paul Robin, Chief Executive of The Lord’s Taverners, said: “We are thrilled to welcome the winners of the LV= County Championships here at The Lord’s Taverners. It’s a great tradition for HRH The Duke of Edinburgh to present The Lord’s Taverners Trophies and a wonderful way to thank the county game which has, once again, been so supportive of the charity last season. With their help, The Lord’s Taverners continues to make a tangible difference to the lives of young people by getting them active in sport.

You can view photos from the day on our Facebook page.

« Back to news home

News categories

Please choose from the categories below.

Our sponsors:

Berkeley Group Foundation Grange Hotels Ford BT