One week to go – submit your nominations for the Sporting Chance Awards

23rd Jun 2016

There’s just one week to go before nominations close for the 2016 Sporting Chance Awards. 

The Sporting Chance Awards recognise the sporting achievements of young people under the age of 19 and the loyal, selfless work of others which enables young people to experience fulfilment and enjoyment in sport, so if you know someone deserving of recognition for their hard work, efforts and achievements, then we’d love to know.

The ceremony is held in October, but the deadline to submit a nomination for one of the awards is June 30, so please click here to tell us the fantastic examples of achievements through participation or even the hard work of volunteers and organisations that make that possible. It’s a simple form so do send us your entries!

Applications close at midday on 30 June 2016 and shortlisted nominees will be notified by the end of July and invited, along with a guest (two representatives per club/programme), to the Sporting Chance Awards Lunch on 21 October at Guildhall in London. 

How are the winners decided?

The awards are judged by an independent panel of experts. The judges will take into account a range of attributes including sporting achievements, personal/social development, innovation, community impact, volunteering, effectiveness and sustainability.

The nomination form will give you an opportunity to explain how these attributes have been demonstrated. The individual or club you are nominating should be able to demonstrate achievement in most, if not all, of these areas.

Categories & Criteria:

Young Sportsperson of the Year (male and/or female awards subject to nominations)

  • This category is for a young sportsperson who has displayed excellence in their chosen sport.

  • Been a role model for others and raised the profile of their sport.

  • Nominees for this category must be 19 years or under on 31st August 2016.

  • This includes those participating in disability or mainstream sports.

Spirit of Sport Award – Sponsored by Experia

  • This category is for those who play sport in the right spirt demonstrating commitment, enthusiasm and encouragement giving their “personal best”.

  • The individual may have overcome personal challenges and their positive attitude and determination reflects in their sporting endeavours.

  • Nominees for this category must be 19 years or under on 31st August 2016.

  • This includes those participating in disability or mainstream sports.

Young Volunteer of the Year

  • During the past year the individual has given up a substantial amount of time to volunteer in  sport in any capacity demonstrating their leadership qualities.

  • Been a role model for others and helped raise the profile of their sport.

  • Enabled others to make improvements in their performance and achievements.

  • Nominees for this category must be 25 years or under on 31st August 2016.

Community Sports Club of the Year

  • This award recognises a community sports club that provides high quality sports environment for its members.  The club will have achieved this through:

  • Community engagement and developing links with schools and other community organisations;

  • Use of supporting and volunteer coaches as well as creating coaching opportunities;

  • Attracting new members and retaining existing members;

  • Progress and development of young participants;

  • Provision for both male and females;

  • Providing opportunities for both disabled and disadvantaged young people, in particular those from “hard to reach” groups.

  • Demonstrates high standards of governance.

Team of the Year

This will be for a team that can demonstrate:

  • Improvements in their performance and achievements.

  • Evidence of teamwork, leadership and captaincy.

  • Acting as role models for others and encouraging others to participate.

  • Team members must be 19 year or under on 31st August 2016.

Jean Ratcliff Lifetime Contribution Award

Merged with Service to Sport as both very similar criteria and last year there was a reason for both

This category is open to an individual who has worked tirelessly to provide sporting opportunities for young disabled and disadvantaged young people. 

  • This can cover one or more aspects of the sports movement which may include :- administration, committee work, fundraising, programme development, coaching, officiating, volunteering;

  • The individual should show dedication and commitment and a level of success for a period of over 15 years.

To submit a nomination for an award, click here.

« Back to news home | View more from Lord's Taverners

News categories

Please choose from the categories below.

Our sponsors:

Berkeley Group Foundation BT Grange Hotels Ford