Taverners recognised in Queen's 2013 New Year honours

1st Jan 2013
Taverners recognised in Queen's 2013 New Year honours

Following an exceptional year of sport, we were not surprised – though still absolutely delighted – to see so many Taverners in the Queen’s New Year honours list.

Lord Coe was made a Companion of Honour for his role in putting on the greatest Olympic and Paralympic Games in history, while Cherie Blair, Ian Livingstone and David Sheepshanks were each awarded a CBE.

Michael Billington, Mike Denness and Richard Rowlandson were each awarded an OBE, as was our sports ambassador Ellie Simmonds for her London 2012 performances in the swimming pool.

Richard Baldwin, Robert Croft and Mark Ramprakash were each awarded an MBE, together with Mickey Bushell for his gold medal-winning efforts on the track at London 2012, while John Poore was awarded a British Empire Medal for charitable services.

We are equally thrilled to learn that Taverners favourite, Bob ‘the Cat’ Bevan, was named as Kent County Cricket Club’s President for 2013.

Congratulations from all at The Lord’s Taverners!

« Back to news home

News categories

Please choose from the categories below.

Our sponsors:

Grange Hotels Berkeley Group Foundation Ford BT